Girls’, boys’ basketball Class AA ‘All State’ teams announced


March 27, 2014

The girls’ and boys’ Class AA “All State” basketball teams were announced last week as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

2014 Class AA All-state girls’ basketball

First team

Hope Lester, WestSide, 11 (Capt.)

McKinzee Barker, Clay County, 11

Kaden Whaley, Fairmont Senior, 11

Brittany Gould, Sissonville, 12

Brandy Morrison, Summers County, 12

Lexi Carr, Keyser, 12

Savannah Winnett, Tolsia, 12

Emily Knight, Lincoln, 12

Second team

Alyssa Shingle, Weir, 12

Sarah Haynes, Berkeley Springs, 12

Megan Haller, North Marion, 10

Emily Stoller, Fairmont Senior, 11 (capt.)

Madison Jones, Sissonville, 10

Hailey Miller, Ravenswood, 11

Hannah King, Herbert Hoover, 12

Anne Marie Moscufo, North Marion, 12

Third team

Cassidy Taylor, Roane County, 11

Hannah Griffith, Grafton, 10

Ali Whitman, Scott, 12

Lyndsay Hatfield, PikeView, 11

Faith Davis, WestSide,

Whittney Justice, Summers County, 9

Lexi Taylor, Keyser, 11 (capt.)

Kristen Desrocher, Chapmanville, 12

Honorable mention

Makayla McElwayne, Lincoln; Hayley Haning, Lincoln; Hannah Fetty, Bridgeport; Tessa Clark, Grafton; Kaelyn Drainer, Grafton; Corin Todd, Robert C. Byrd; Tyaina Horton, Fairmont Senior; Kelsey Morrone, Fairmont Senior; Presley Tuttle, North Marion; Noca Singleton, North Marion; Felicity VanGilder, East Fairmont; Brooklynn Weaver, East Fairmont; Karli Pinkerton, Sissonville; Bailey Aab, Herbert Hoover; Danielle Brown, Westside; Megan Endicott, Westside; Brittney Justice, Summers County; Avery Pivont, Summers County; Destiny Sims, Bluefield; Dazia Edwards, Bluefield; Bre Pertee, Wyoming East; Madison May, PikeView; Katie Dobbs, River View; Keisha Johnson, Mount View; Taylor Treadway, Ravenswood; Vanessa Tallman, Ritchie County; Isabella Haverty, Clay County; Emily Harper, Braxton County; Jordan Presley, Tolsia; Vanessa Hissam, Oak Glen; Brittani Bible, Petersburg; Ashley Curry, Mingo Central; Samantha Stout, Webster County.

2014 Boys’ Class AA team:

First Team:

Devonti Birch, Robert. C. Byrd, jr.

Corey Bowles, Westside, sr.

Austin Canada, Wyoming East, sr.

Lykel Collier, Bluefield, sr.

Anthony Eades, Bluefied, sr. (Captain)

Noah Frampton, Poca, jr.

Justin Noble, Robert C. Byrd, jr.

John Wilfong, Bridgeport, jr.

Second Team:

Josh Butcher, Chapmanville, jr. (Captain)

Justin Cogar, Westside, jr.

Luke Frampton, Poca, fr.

Christian Hedinger, Wyoming East, sr.

Jake Martin, Ravenswood, sr.

Zach Meadows, PikeView, sr.

Jacob Neal, Roane County, sr.

Jared Tharp, Nicholas County, sr.

Third Team:

Taron Ayers, Wyoming East, sr.

Luke Dyer, Robert C. Byrd, so.

Will Fox, Westside, jr. (Captain)

Tavon Horton, Fairmont Senior, jr.

Michael Kearney, Berkeley Springs, sr.

Eric May, Scott, jr.

Kevin Steele, Robert C. Byrd, sr.

Michael Yost, Bluefield, sr.

Honorable mention:

Riley Allen, Ritchie County; Chase Banker, North Marion; Dante Bonamico, Bridgeport; Donnell Bonds, Mount View; Cody Brown, Scott; Cody Carpenter, Lincoln; Cameron Carvelli, Robert C. Byrd; Matt Chandler, Poca; Robbie Cogar, Webster County; Stephen Cole, Clay County; Isaac Crow, Ravenswood; Corey Coppola, Bluefield; Seth Cottrill, Ritchie County; Elijah Cuffee, Poca; Trey Dalton, Chapmanville; Dalton Davis, Webster County; Taylor DeHaven, River View; Chase Detrick, Frankfort; Dikembe Dixon, Mingo Central; D.J. Edwards, Bluefield; Grant Ferguson, Wayne; Brian George, Petersburg; Nick Greely, East Fairmont; Cody Hilton, Braxton County; Myles Johnson, East Fairmont; Brett Justice, Wayne; Justin Kenneda, Westside; Alex Lee, Mingo Central; Cody McClung, Nicholas County; Blake Newhouse, Sissonville; Darhius Nunn, Fairmont Senior; Cody Opron, North Marion; Eric Peyatt, Nicholas County; Kenny Plumley, Chapmanville; Jordan Ponder, Bluefield; Chase Robey, Bridgeport; Skylar Rucker, Grafton; Grant Shanholtz, Petersburg; Matt Ryan, Summers County; Brennan Smith, Oak Glen; Chris Smith, Grafton; Terry Smith, Summers County; Caleb Spencer, James Monroe; Ryan Streets, Keyser; Caleb Sturgell, Tolsia; Jason Weitzel, PikeView; Isaak Wilmoth, Roane County; Chris Wood, Weir.