BOONE COUNTY — A Van High running back/receiver, a Scott High defensive back combined with a retiring coach lead the 2019 Coal Valley News All-County Football Team.

Van High’s versatile senior back David Stewart is the “Offensive Player of the Year” and Scott High senior Caleb Dingess was named the “Defensive Player of the Year” for their efforts during the 2019 campaign.

Stewart amassed 1,455 yards rushing, passing and receiving combined for the Bulldogs while scoring 10 touchdowns on the season. Stewart has amassed over 3,000 rushing yards in his prep career.

Dingess averaged nine tackles per game in 2019 while notching seven sacks and 11 tackles for a loss from multiple positions including safety, linebacker and noseguard while facing top Class AA competition in the Cardinal Conference. Dingess also contributed on the offensive side of the ball on special teams and as a receiver.

The 2019 CVN Coach of the Year is Van High’s Stephen “Foot” Price who led the squad to three of Boone County’s five total wins this season. Price has retired from the seat after 10 (total) years as head coach where he compiled a (53-48) record and made four Class A playoff appearances.

“I think Coach Price is a really good choice,” said Sherman Coach Michael Showalter, who won the award in 2017 and 2018. “He consistently puts a competitive team on the field and does it without a lot of players year after year.”

The team is sponsored by Handley Funeral Home of Danville, which provided plaques for the players of the year and coach of the year.

For player selections, a combination of statistical data, interviews with county coaches and opposing coaches for each school determined the roster for the team. The Coach of the Year selection was determined by team record and overall team success.

2019 CVN All County Team Offense

Quarterback — Caleb Hughes — junior/Scott

Running back — David Stewart — senior/Van

Running back — CJ Winnell — sophomore/Sherman

Tight end — Clay Hudson — senior/Sherman

Wide receiver — Colby Buzzard — sophomore/Sherman

Wide receiver — Jacob Jarrell — senior/Van

Offensive lineman — Slade Adams — junior/Van

Offensive lineman — Isiah Perdue — sophomore/Van

Offensive lineman — Will Elkins — sophomore/Scott

Offensive lineman— Jesse Blankenship — junior/Van

Offensive lineman — Hunter Bowling — junior/Sherman

Utility — Kalen Booth — junior/Van

Utility — Billy Mullins — junior/Sherman


Defensive lineman — Ryan Elkins — sophomore/Scott

Defensive lineman — Hunter McMicken — senior/Van

Defensive lineman — Alan Javins — junior/Sherman

Defensive lineman — Cody Nantz — sophomore/Scott

Linebacker — Frank Bergqvist — senior/Van

Linebacker — Jonathon Atkins — senior/Sherman

Linebacker — Jacob Sprouse — senior/Sherman

Linebacker — Dane Messer — junior/Scott

Defensive back — Caleb Dingess — senior/Scott

Defensive back — Isaac Doss — junior/Scott

Defensive back — Davy Jarrell — junior/Sherman

Utility — Michael Clay — junior/Scott

Utility — Shaun Booth — freshman/Van

Punter/Kicker — Frank Bergqvist — senior/Van


Coach of the Year — Steven “Foot” Price/Van

Offensive Player of the Year — David Stewart/Van

Defensive Player of the Year — Caleb Dingess/Scott

Reporter Phil Perry can be reached at or at 304-307-2401.

Reporter Phil Perry can be reached at or at 304-307-2401.